I Don’t Want To Be Motivated By Anyone But Myself

This blog is no longer active. This article has been moved to Francesco’s new website. You can access the article here.

14 Responses to “I Don’t Want To Be Motivated By Anyone But Myself”


  1. 1 Nic 30 October 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Interesting key.
    Could we say that help mentoring someone else personal structure or trying to improve consciousness could motivate people?
    Can we call it “leadership”? In this approach, motivation is just a “site effect” of a good mentoring.

    Good post.
    Thanks.

  2. 2 Francesco Cirillo 3 November 2009 at 9:44 am

    Mentoring should certainly help people improve consciousness.
    I think leadership refers to a different attitude. What about responsibility?

    Francesco

  3. 3 ciroBorrelli 8 November 2009 at 12:26 am

    I found that motivating others could be useful in particular cases of people seriously demotivated by external or unwanted factors (i.e. violence). But i agree with Francesco that responsibility is a key to get aware and motivate by yourself

    ciro

  4. 4 Jean Philippe 10 November 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Thank you for this post Francesco. 🙂

    I am still a little bit confused by the fact that you cannot help others to improve their motivation. Whenever you have time, could you give me another example?

  5. 5 Francesco Cirillo 11 November 2009 at 11:55 am

    You actually can help them the problem is how to do it. As soon as I can I want to reply to your kind message with a new post. Thank you

  6. 6 Jean Philippe 11 November 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Wow! Thanks for that, I’ll wait! 🙂

  7. 7 fausto mancini 10 December 2009 at 10:24 am

    Hi Francesco,
    motivating people is something complex and there are tons of literature about this issue.

    Anyway I think everybody need to be motivated: when you create something, even a simple HTML page, the customer feedback is your motivation. In a real world people do not work exclusively for their pleasure; people work for other people (world economy is based on this concept) and the motivation arises from the consciousness of one’s work real value.

    In my humble opinion working without motivation is not applicable in a real context and alienating too.

    Imagine you are building bricks, and you don’t know what are that bricks for, and you won’t ever see the castle which will be built with that bricks, and nobody tell you: ‘Ok Francesco, your bricks are good and strong and the king will have a nice and sure castle to sleep in; great work!’, and instead somebody tells you: ‘Francesco, build the bricks and be happy with them, you don’t need to know anything else’…

  8. 8 SRJ 10 December 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Your blog is a very useful commentary on “motivation” which happens to be a major “buzzword” that is much used and overused in the corporate culture of the United States (at least in the IT departments). I am of the opinion that I am the only one that can motivate myself and I actually prefer to use the word inspire myself to follow my own goals and values. As a project manager, I have never spent any time on motivating my team; in fact I don’t consider myself a leader. The best way that I can spend my time is to facilitate my team to do the job. Lackluster performance in often the result of a lack of tools to do the job. As you so so clearly said, energy means without the tools or skills to channel it from one step to the next

  9. 9 Tommaso Torti 14 December 2009 at 11:47 am

    Noone can motivate people but all can drain energy. In my experience it happens when your work, created with an high level of motivation, is not recognized.

  10. 10 Nina Rosa Madeira 14 February 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Hi Francesco,
    Great Phrase:
    “Stop trying to motivate people – start motivating yourself!”
    An excellent article on motivation.
    The structure of each person reflects on the reactions
    Great post!

  11. 11 Nina Rosa Madeira 14 February 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Hi Francesco,
    A professional of the psychology could work the structure of the person and consciousness?
    Help solve problems that affect the structure and consciousness.
    Thanks

  12. 12 Massimiliano Bertinetti 24 February 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Yes, I’m with Tommaso Torti when he says “…all can drain energy”.
    If you stay on your route without let other influence your mood you ara halfway to motivating youself.


  1. 1 Scrapbook-Keepsakes.com | I want to start scrapbooking? Trackback on 2 November 2009 at 9:07 am
  2. 2 I met Francesco … « PierG (aka Piergiorgio Grossi) Trackback on 8 April 2010 at 7:39 am
Comments are currently closed.



Follow Francesco on:

FacebookLinkedinTwitter

Anti-IF Campaign

Blogroll

Recent Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.